Triglot
ScotlandRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5017 days ago

1468 posts - 2413 votes 
Speaks: English*, Italian, French
Studies: Spanish

Message 1 of 31
02 September 2010 at 5:10pm | IP Logged 
I figured I'd start one of these logs to keep track of my progress.

The language I'm focusing on right now is French - I'd like to get fairly proficient in
it before I move onto other languages.

My background: I studied French at school - from primary 6 (age 10 or 11) up to Higher
level (age 17). As everyone here knows, language teaching at schools tends to leave a
lot to be desired. All that study gave me a decent foundation in the grammar and the
common verb tenses, and a bit of listening practice, but absolutely zero experience in
speaking - conversation just isn't a skill that's taught in the school system here. Six
years later I've decided to revisit my French and try to actually get good at it.

Resources I have
Michel Thomas - basic French (gone through this already)
Pimsleur French I-III (also gone through this already)
A massive beast of a French dictionary (Oxford-Hachette)
Anki, with two decks: the public Intermediate French one and one of my own for words I
come across.
The local French Conversation Meetup Group, where I can go to practice my speaking with
other learners and native speakers.
Various French language websites and blogs for reading.
French In Action videos.
french.about.com - basically serves as my online grammar book. Also has some tests that
are good for gauging your ability with some of the more confusing aspects of the
grammar.
UPDATED 2010-09-08:
Assimil French with Ease

I might try and get a hold of Assimil as well since it gets very good reviews around
here.

Goals

My main goal is to be comfortable with French conversations by next June, as that's
when I'm planning on attending a big music festival in France so it makes sense as a
goal as I'll have lots of opportunity to chat with natives. Hence speaking and