Hiiro Yui
Diglot
United States
Joined 4502 days ago

111 posts - 126 votes 
Speaks: English*, Japanese

Message 314 of 407
25 April 2012 at 9:52am | IP Logged 
I needed to finally download Firefox to watch it. Thanks for the video, Arekkusu.

I've been learning Japanese (off and on) for over 10 years, and my interest doesn't
wander to other languages, so it's natural that I'd have the bigger passive vocabulary. I've always known that. But when I read that you have regular contact with real, live Japanese people and speak only Japanese with them, it made me think you could probably express the views you write on this forum pretty well despite having a more limited vocabulary. Am I wrong?

Edited by Hiiro Yui on 26 April 2012 at 12:37pm

1 person has voted this message useful

Arekkusu
Hexaglot
Canada
bit.ly/qc_10_lec
Joined 5166 days ago

3971 posts - 7747 votes 
Speaks: English, French*, GermanC1, Spanish, Japanese, Esperanto
Studies: Italian, Norwegian, Mandarin, Romanian, Estonian

Message 315 of 407
25 April 2012 at 1:05pm | IP Logged 
Hiiro Yui wrote:
I've been learning Japanese (off and on) for over 10 years, and my interest doesn't
wander to other languages, so it's natural that I'd have the bigger passive vocabulary. I've always known that.
But when I read that you have regular contact with real, live Japanese people and speak only Japanese with
them, it made me think you could probably express the views you write on this forum pretty well despite
having a more limited vocabulary. Am I wrong?

Probably not, but teaching phonology issues is another matter entirely.

Arekkusu
Hexaglot
Canada
bit.ly/qc_10_lec
Joined 5166 days ago

3971 posts - 7747 votes 

Message 316 of 407
25 April 2012 at 6:22pm | IP Logged 
Or would a video on Japanese pronunciation in general be more useful to you, Hiiro Yui? I could make one on that after.

Hiiro Yui
Diglot
United States
Joined 4502 days ago

111 posts - 126 votes 

Message 317 of 407
26 April 2012 at 2:38am | IP Logged