9 messages over 2 pages: 1 2  Next >>
COF
United States
Joined 5591 days ago

262 posts - 354 votes 
Speaks: English*

Message 1 of 9
26 September 2010 at 1:27pm | IP Logged 
I am wondering if anyone could suggest a good, comprehensive course for Portuguese. Preferably Brazilian Portuguese, but I would consider European Portuguese if there is a particularly good course for it.

Thanks
1 person has voted this message useful

iguanamon
Pentaglot
Virgin Islands
Speaks: Ladino
Joined 5022 days ago

2237 posts - 6731 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish, Portuguese, Haitian Creole, Creole (French)

Message 2 of 9
26 September 2010 at 6:18pm | IP Logged 
Hmmm, I'm probably not a good person to advise you since I am studying Portuguese after having learned Spanish and using advanced materials. The default source is the free FSI PortugueseThere are also websites where you can order the whole thing with all of the audio downloaded for you already for about $20 on a dvd. Some people find the course to be too tedious.

"Ponto de Encontro" is available from Amazon and E-bay. It is a comprehensive course with audio, video and workbooks available. Of course, you'll have to pay somewhere around $200 for all of this.

Do a "G search" on this site for opinions on the common learning programs.

Free resources for Portuguese are difficult to come across. Instead of buying "Pimsleur", I would do a youtube search where you can find (and download and also convert the files to mp3 with the right web-programs) videos that teach vocabulary and basic beginner lessons.

Edited by iguanamon on 26 September 2010 at 8:07pm

lingoleng
Germany
Joined 5058 days ago

605 posts - 1290 votes 

Message 3 of 9
26 September 2010 at 7:08pm | IP Logged 
COF wrote:
I am wondering if anyone could suggest a good, comprehensive course for Portuguese. Preferably Brazilian Portuguese, but I would consider European Portuguese if there is a particularly good course for it.Thanks