Hobbema
United States
Joined 5523 days ago

541 posts - 575 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Portuguese, French, Dutch

Message 145 of 172
28 January 2011 at 6:54pm | IP Logged 
Ik wil mijn vocabulaire van Assimil gebruiken.   Als ik denk even na, ik ben een lerar, en ik ben een leerling, omdat ik alleen studeer. Mijn beroep is ingeneiur, maar ik wil taalen studeer. Of, ik zou een muzikant of een kunstenaar willen zijn. Nu weet het wat wel de Nederlandse taal is niet moeilijk, maar ik heb nog niet genoeg oefenen.

Okay, so I wrote the few lines above directly into Dutch using the Michel Thomas and some of the vocabulary I have from Assimil. As a cross check I pasted it into Google Translate and the machine nastily butchered it all up...it seems to be structured okay based on the rules I have learned, but what I tried to say was:

“I want to use my vocabulary from Assimil. If I think for a moment, I am a teacher, and I am a student, because I study alone. My profession is engineer, but I want to study languages. Or I would want to be a musician or an artist. Yes, now I know (or, I now know well) the Dutch language is not difficult, but I have yet to practice (exercise) enough.”

I’ve written in Dutch often before, while using a dictionary, as an exercise and a learning activity, and just for fun. I think about that now and cringe, wondering what I sound like. I’m at the stage now where I’m starting to appreciate just how much I don’t know yet. :)

Edited by Hobbema on 28 January 2011 at 6:55pm

1 person has voted this message useful

mick33
United States
Joined 5706 days ago

1335 posts - 1632 votes 
Studies: Finnish
Studies: Thai, Polish, Afrikaans, Hindi, Hungarian, Italian, Spanish, Swedish

Message 146 of 172
29 January 2011 at 11:27pm | IP Logged 
doviende wrote:
How's everyone else doing with their goals? Any problems or new insights?