Winner TAC 2011 & 2012
Norway
Joined 5115 days ago

4143 posts - 8864 votes 
Speaks: Norwegian*, Spanish, Swedish, French, English, German, Italian
Studies: Russian

Message 1 of 19
09 December 2010 at 7:25pm | IP Logged 
How do you deal with accents in Esperanto? Do you each use your own national accent, so that the French, Germans and English each have different Rs, aspirated consonants are optional and you chose the L which would be natural in your own language, or are there common rules?

I assume there are some common rules, to avoid anarchy, but is there a universally accepted "RP" version of Esperanto?

When I studied Latin, I refused to use the Norwegian pronunciation rules, and insisted on using the Spanish ones wich sounded better in my ear. When I told an American friend of mine this, he exclaimed: There is only one way to pronounce Latin, and said
what in my ears sounded like "Ey too Brutey". I have no idea how Latin was pronounced, but I am sure it was not with a heavy American accent...

What's the deal in Esperanto?
2 persons have voted this message useful

Solfrid Cristin
Heptaglot
Winner TAC 2011 & 2012
Norway
Joined 5115 days ago

4143 posts - 8864 votes 
Speaks: Norwegian*, Spanish, Swedish, French, English, German, Italian
Studies: Russian

Message 3 of 19
09 December 2010 at 8:13pm | IP Logged 
He was dead serious.

He is very intelligent (he teaches both History and Law at an American university) but it did not occur to him, that the pronunciation of your own language would influence the way you "speak" Latin.
1 person has voted this message useful

michau
Tetraglot
Groupie
Norway
lang-8.com/member/49
Joined 6007 days ago

86 posts - 135 votes 
Speaks: Polish*, English, NorwegianC1, Mandarin
Studies: Spanish, Sign Language
Studies: Burmese, Toki Pona, Greenlandic

Message 5 of 19
09 December 2010 at 9:45pm | IP Logged 
Solfrid Cristin wrote: