Groupie
Australia
Joined 5034 days ago

83 posts - 126 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: German, Modern Hebrew

Message 17 of 29
11 April 2011 at 10:36am | IP Logged 
Thanks for the guide, i just started learning today -)
1 person has voted this message useful

pinkeyemusic
United States
Joined 4757 days ago

4 posts - 7 votes
Studies: Spanish, Latin, Ancient Greek, French, Biblical Hebrew, Portuguese

Message 18 of 29
14 April 2011 at 9:15am | IP Logged 
MichaelM204351 wrote:
Knowing Hebrew does indeed make Arabic easier due to similar vocabulary and
grammar. The alphabets are very different, however.

About the alphabets, sure they look different, mainly because one is in block style (kind of like writing in ALL CAPS)
and the other looks more like cursive handwriting, but the symbols and sounds that they represent are pretty
similar. There are a few different phonemes, for example Arabic doesn't have a /p/ phoneme, but you can find
sound correspondences between the languages easily, and the alphabets (abjad, actually) are perfectly suited to the
languages. Certainly not like English written in the Latin script! what a nightmare!

liddytime
Pentaglot
United States
mainlymagyar.wordpre
Joined 6010 days ago

693 posts - 1328 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Galician
Studies: Hungarian, Vietnamese, Modern Hebrew, Norwegian, Persian, Arabic (Written)

Message 19 of 29
14 April 2011 at 12:45pm | IP Logged 
This show, Arab Labor, (Hebrew: עבודה ערבית‎, Avoda Aravit; Arabic: شغل عَرَب‎) is absolutely brilliant! It is called the
Palestinian Seinfeld.

It is about 80% Hebrew with about 20% Palestinian Arabic. You can watch episodes free online here:

Arab labor

JW
Hexaglot
United States
youtube.com/user/egw
Joined 5903 days ago

1802 posts - 2011 votes 
22 sounds
Speaks: English*, German, Spanish, Ancient Greek, French, Biblical Hebrew
Studies: Luxembourgish, Dutch, Greek, Italian

Message 20 of 29
14 April 2011 at 2:07pm | IP Logged