Netherlands
Joined 5113 days ago

864 posts - 1274 votes 
Speaks: Dutch*, EnglishC2
Studies: French

Message 1 of 198
26 December 2010 at 11:26pm | IP Logged 
Introduction

Today I finally thought of a title for this log so I figured it would be a good time to actually start writing it. First, a (not so) little overview of what I’ll (try to) be doing this year:

French
I’ve been studying French, in some way or another, for almost eight years but it’s only been a serious pursuit for the last three months. I’ve noticed significant progress in this period which is why I’ve decided to aim for basic passive fluency by October 2011, just in time for my 21st birthday.

For the past three months (almost four, now that I think about it) I’ve been using my own method. I have huge self-discipline issues so I was afraid that forcing myself to study regularly would result in severe slacking and abandonment but, to my surprise, I’ve stuck to it diligently and it’s given me enough courage to load another language onto my plate.

Arabic
I really want to learn at least one non Indo-European language and I’ve decided on Arabic. I have no clear-cut goals for this language. Keeping up some kind of studying regime for an entire year will be enough of an achievement, regardless of the result.

I originally meant to work with Pimsleur because I found it online for a good price, however, it turns out it only contained the first ten lessons. It was a Sinterklaas present so technically it shouldn’t have mattered but I felt guilty for getting the poor old man swindled so I subtly suggested to my mother that maybe we should exchange it for a more fairly-priced article. She returned one of my presents because she’d seen it cheaper somewhere else so I figured the two faux pas would cancel each other out.