Tetraglot
Austria
Joined 6818 days ago

146 posts - 170 votes 
Speaks: German*, EnglishC2, Swedish, ItalianB1
Studies: French, Hungarian, Esperanto, Czech

Message 25 of 80
15 April 2011 at 11:38am | IP Logged 
I am quite impressed with you progress, and I have no doubt you will find the motivation to go on like this. What you wrote about obsession with Hungarian is a phenomenon that I have also discovered. Not only in me but also in others. Since I started learning Hungarian I met lots of otheres who also did so, and they all were really in love with Hungarian. (those who were not, got frustrated at some point and stopped studying it) So I think obsession plays a more important factor in learning Hungarian then it plays with most other languages.
1 person has voted this message useful

hribecek
Triglot
Czech Republic
Joined 5131 days ago

1243 posts - 1458 votes 
Speaks: English*, Czech, Spanish
Studies: Italian, Polish, Slovak, Hungarian, Toki Pona, Russian

Message 26 of 80
15 April 2011 at 6:15pm | IP Logged 
You might be right about this phenomenon belonging to Hungarian.

I studied Czech even more obsessively than Hungarian for the first 2 years but it wasn't really about the Czech language, it was the dream of knowing what it's like to speak a foreign language fluently and think in it that drove me then. I've never met anybody obsessed with Czech in particular and I've met lots of students of it. I DO really like Czech though and it has a big place in my heart.

Spanish has always been just a good buddy of mine that I enjoy being with and Mandarin has always been too aloof and distant for me.

I've been in love with languages in general since I discovered them in 2003 but Hungarian is the first individual language that I've fallen in love with!

Any non-language lover/geek reading this will think I'm a complete weirdo!

Edited by hribecek on 15 April 2011 at 6:20pm

hribecek
Triglot
Czech Republic
Joined 5131 days ago

1243 posts - 1458 votes