Joined 4846 days ago

95 posts - 109 votes 
Speaks: Czech*, English, Russian
Studies: Vietnamese
Personal Language Map

Message 1 of 68
30 December 2010 at 10:08pm | IP Logged 
Hi there!

I'll be studying Russian as part of team Я in TAC 2011.

I'm Czech, which means that as languages go, Russian comes easy to me. But in the end it's foreign language anyway, and I need to work on it just like everyone else.

I've been learning Russian for about two years now (this is my fifth semester). My day job takes fair amount of time, and I have a bunch of other hobbies and people to hang up with, so I'm hardly studying full time. But I spend about an hour a day on Russian-related activities.

For about the first two years of my studies I had ordinary, old-fashioned group course, two hours a week. That provided the necessary external motivation, and served well the first two years. This fall, I stopped attending for various reasons, and am in the process of test-driving several native speakers whom I'd like to replace the group course with.

This summer, I've gathered my courage, did all the paperwork and visited Russia. I spent three weeks in St. Petersburg living at host family and attending a language school. Since I was mostly able to converse, it's been essentially a three-week long conversational course. By the end of it, I'd commonly have dreams in Russian. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone except perhaps beginners, who wouldn't benefit that much, I think.

As for the methods... I read most days, I listen to the radio most days, and often watch Russian telenovelas and news. The vocabulary that I pick goes into Anki, where I have meticulous system of templates for conjugations and inflections of Russian words. Since I'm well over the threshold where such system makes sense, lately I've been adding sentences where I cloze out a part, and replace it with approximate English equivalent. That seems to work better.