Language Learning Forum : General discussion Post Reply
36 messages over 5 pages: 1 2 3 4 5  Next >>
korman
United Kingdom
Joined 4820 days ago

4 posts - 6 votes

Message 1 of 36
16 January 2011 at 2:03am | IP Logged 
I want to learn Korean, and I'm trying the "immersion" method. I have dramas, music, and have Korean books. I try to have something in Korean in front of me at least 8 hours a day. I've been doing this for 6 months, and I still have no idea what is being said, or what I'm reading.

Why?
2 persons have voted this message useful

Nguyen
Vietnam
Joined 4852 days ago

109 posts - 195 votes 
Speaks: Vietnamese

Message 2 of 36
16 January 2011 at 2:22am | IP Logged 
Are you studying or just trying to learn by bosmosis. The latter doesn't work, also six months is not a long time for such a difficult language. It would be surprising indeed if you were to be able to understand Dramas, Music etc.. At this stage in the game. Get some good study materials and be patient. One day things will start making sense.

Levi
Pentaglot
United States
Joined 5326 days ago

2268 posts - 3328 votes 
Speaks: English*, French, Esperanto, German, Spanish
Studies: Russian, Dutch, Portuguese, Mandarin, Japanese, Italian

Message 3 of 36
16 January 2011 at 2:49am | IP Logged 
Just having the language in front of you is not enough if you have no way to break down what is being said and understand the meaning of the words. Nguyen is right, you do have to do some study of the language itself (i.e. grammar and vocabulary), especially with a language as dissimilar to English as Korean is. With Korean you will also have to study the different registers of speech, since completely different words are used depending on who the speaker is talking to. And not to discourage you or anything, but Korean is a particularly difficult language and even if you moved to Korea and cut English out of your life it would probably still take you years to feel comfortable in it.