Pentaglot
United States
Joined 5077 days ago

100 posts - 140 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish, Arabic (Written), Mandarin, French
Studies: German

Message 9 of 15
23 January 2011 at 10:38pm | IP Logged 
Thanks everyone! I'm still studying Icelandic every day and like it quite a bit, so I've decided to continue it. It's very close to *Old Norwegian (edit: Old Norse), so that's a plus.

Afrikaans would be very interesting. Your suggestions have me excited to look into that one, Dutch, or German after a bit more time with Icelandic! Each one has its own special attraction, for sure.

Edited by Ygangerg on 24 January 2011 at 12:12am

1 person has voted this message useful

ellasevia
Super Polyglot
Winner TAC 2011
Germany
Joined 5901 days ago

2150 posts - 3229 votes 
Speaks: English*, German, Croatian, Greek, French, Spanish, Russian, Swedish, Portuguese, Turkish, Italian
Studies: Catalan, Persian, Mandarin, Japanese, Romanian, Ukrainian

Message 10 of 15
23 January 2011 at 10:45pm | IP Logged 
I guess you've already made up your mind, but I just read on here that Professor Arguelles recommended that the optimum order for a native English speaker tackling the Germanic languages would be to start with German, and then to study Icelandic second. This is probably because they are the most difficult in the West and North Germanic groups respectively, and after those two the other Germanic languages would be much easier. I suppose from there you could study whatever interests you most.
2 persons have voted this message useful

Ygangerg
Pentaglot
United States
Joined 5077 days ago

100 posts - 140 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish, Arabic (Written), Mandarin, French
Studies: German

Message 11 of 15
23 January 2011 at 11:02pm | IP Logged