linguafrankly.blogsp
Joined 5822 days ago

4399 posts - 7687 votes 
Speaks: Lowland Scots, English*, French, Spanish, Scottish Gaelic
Studies: Catalan, Italian, German, Irish, Welsh

Message 17 of 39
24 February 2011 at 1:36am | IP Logged 
dragonfly wrote:
As a teacher I'm interested in what to do with the beginners, in the classroom included. I watched some videos on youtube and now understand how he proposes to introduce vocab and structure (here, for example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NiTsduRreug).

I would be more open to Krashen if he stopped always demonstrating with the same subset of German that is practically 100% cognate with English and demonstrated how to begin teaching something completely with a different word order and a completely unknown vocabulary....
1 person has voted this message useful

Iversen
Super Polyglot
Denmark
berejst.dk
Joined 6514 days ago

9078 posts - 16473 votes 
Speaks: Danish*, French, English, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish, Esperanto, Romanian, Catalan
Studies: Afrikaans, Greek, Norwegian, Russian, Serbian, Icelandic, Latin, Irish, Lowland Scots, Indonesian, Polish, Croatian
Personal Language Map

Message 18 of 39
24 February 2011 at 1:15pm | IP Logged 
Cainntear wrote:
Most grammar books are designed for paper, not for the mind. A grammar designed for paper doesn't make the rules unmissable -- you are forced to draw your own rules and conclusions... which may be wrong. Far better if the patterns are taught explicitly than spread across multiple tables.