United States
Joined 4742 days ago

6 posts - 6 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: German
Studies: Danish, Greenlandic

Message 1 of 13
03 May 2011 at 7:28am | IP Logged 
First of all, I am very new to the process of learning foreign languages. I have been interested in them for several years now and there are so many that I like, but I've never really put a lot of effort into actually learning them. Now, I have decided I am going to get serious about learning the languages I enjoy. Please bear in mind that I am not very familiar with the process of learning another language, especially as far as self-study is concerned.

A few years back, I made the mistake of buying Rosetta Stone for Latin. I wish I had done a little bit of research before I bought it, because it turned out to be one of the biggest wastes of money ever. Now that I have done some research, I can see that most people really like Assimil, so I figure I'll ask a few questions about it here (just so I don't buy it and find out it was a waste).

The two languages I want to learn are German and Arabic, and I want to buy "German with Ease" and "Arabic with Ease" from Assimil. How worthwhile are these programs? When I'm finished, how fluent will I be? Will I be able to read & write in the two languages and understand basic conversation? Will I be able to actually converse with native speakers of these languages? The reason I'm asking is because I've seen the Amazon reviews, and one person said after he used "German with Ease", he was able to converse with his German friends, got a job in Germany as a technical translator, wrote papers in German, and even taught in a German school. I'm not expecting it to have drastic results like this, but will it at least get me to a conversational level?

(I'd also appreciate anyone who could point me to other useful programs for learning these two languages, possibly in conjunction with Assimil.)
1 person has voted this message useful

fanatic
Octoglot
Australia