Groupie
United States
Joined 4810 days ago

59 posts - 85 votes 
Speaks: English*, French
Studies: Spanish

Message 17 of 46
14 July 2012 at 12:37am | IP Logged 
Hello everyone! Apparently I'm on a 5 month update schedule. Woohoo! I noticed that
it's been 13 months since I started learning French. Just over a year, and I feel
pretty damn good about it!

So I went backpacking in Europe for 4 months after I left Belgium. I've been back in
the states for about a month now. When I was backpacking I was usually alone, so I
would have a lot of time to read or do whatever, and I always read in French. Since my
last post, the books I finished are:

Le Comte de Monte-Cristo 1 and 2
Hunger Games 1 and 2 (reading the 3rd right now)
Le Seigneur Des Anneaux 1 - 3

That's been the majority of what I've done since my last update. When I was backpacking
I had no dictionary or other resources. I just read. If I didn't know a word, I skipped
it. Usually if I kept seeing an unknown word I could pick up the meaning from context,
and from that I progressed a lot. If I couldn't, well, I would try to remember and look
it up online once I found a computer, but I couldn't do that much.

I also traveled in France for about a month, and that gave me plenty of practice. I was
pretty surprised with simply how comfortable I was in most situations. One time I even
had a problem in a hostel and I had to go argue with the guy who worked at the front
desk, who was, frankly, an asshole, and that blew my mind. I was confident enough to go
have a confrontation with someone in French. If you try that and handle it well I can
tell you that your confidence will be positively affected. :)

I met a Québec girl who I traveled with for almost two weeks. We met in Barcelona and
met back up later in France. At first we talked in almost all English, and then somehow
we just shifted to French all the time, and we haven't looked back. Although we stopped