Kazakhstan
Joined 6329 days ago

44 posts - 61 votes 
Speaks: Kazakh, Russian*, Turkish, EnglishC2
Studies: FrenchB1, Japanese

Message 57 of 88
06 June 2013 at 12:59pm | IP Logged 
za20 wrote:
From my experience, I can say that if two Turkic people meet and if they speak slowly
and if they use basic words, they can easily communicate, at least everyday-
conversation basic level. There is no problem. When I was in Germany, I had some Kazakh
friends from Kazakhstan who had never exposure to Turkish before, we managed to
communicate. The grammars of the Turkic Languages are almost the same. There are some
pronounciation differences, and some wocabulary differences. If we use basic
wocabulary, we can communicate.    

What kind of communication did you have? When I started learning Turkish, knowing
Kazakh (intermediate level, about B2 on CEFR scale), I could understand one in 7-8
words in Turkish subtitles. My relatives, Kazakh and Turkish speaking could not really
communicate much without outside help. The thing is, there are many words that are
similar, however, many Turkish words that are similar to Kazakh ones have other
synonyms that are more widely used. One such example is the word for "dog"- the kazakh
"it" is also used in Turksh, but mostly perjoratively, or as an insult, instead of
"kopek". Also, because so many words were borrowed from Persian and Arabic in both
Kazakh and Turkish, with the Turkish Language Revolution, when Turks decided to replace
the borrowings with the "real turkish words", the languages lost some of their mutual
intelligibility.

By the way, even though the languages are not really mutually intelligible to a high
degree, the Turkish linguistic tradition calls all the Turkic languages "dialects",
similar to those of Arabic, I guess.
3 persons have voted this message useful

Chung
Diglot
Joined 6937 days ago

4228 posts - 8259 votes 
20 sounds
Speaks: English*, French
Studies: Polish, Slovak, Uzbek, Turkish, Korean, Finnish