Register  Login  Active Topics  Maps  

Learning with texts

  Tags: Software
 Language Learning Forum : Learning Techniques, Methods & Strategies Post Reply
354 messages over 45 pages: << Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 ... 44 45 Next >>
lwtproject
Pentaglot
Senior Member
Netherlands
https://learning-wit
Joined 3404 days ago

149 posts - 262 votes 
Speaks: French, Dutch*, German, English, Mandarin
Studies: Italian

 
 Message 105 of 354
05 August 2011 at 2:33pm | IP Logged 
fiziwig wrote:
How do I set it up for Spanish. I read through previous posts in this thread and other people
talked about using it with Spanish, but I don't see how to do that.

Specifically, what am I supposed to put for dictionary URL's and Google translate URL. I'm not familiar with how to
figure out what those URLs should be.


Read the new documentation on http://lwt.sf.net about language setup.

The link to Google Translate is always

http://translate.google.com/?ie=UTF-8&sl=..&tl=..&text=###

where the two-character codes after "sl=" and "tl=" designate the language codes for the source and the target
language.

Language codes, see:
http://code.google.com/intl/de/apis/language/translate/v1/ge tting_started.html#LangNameArray

(remove the space in "getting" inserted by the forum software or use:
http://bit.ly/n1Fz2C )

A good Spanish-English web dictionary is:

http://www.wordreference.com/es/en/translation.asp?spen=###

with ### as the searchword.

Edited by lwtproject on 05 August 2011 at 2:35pm

2 persons have voted this message useful



tommus
Senior Member
CanadaRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4378 days ago

979 posts - 1686 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Dutch, French, Esperanto, German, Spanish

 
 Message 106 of 354
05 August 2011 at 9:18pm | IP Logged 
lwtproject wrote:
[QUOTE=fiziwig]The link to Google Translate is always

http://translate.google.com/?ie=UTF-8&sl=..&tl=..&text=###

where the two-character codes after "sl=" and "tl=" designate the language codes for the source and the target
language.

Language codes, see:
http://code.google.com/intl/de/apis/language/translate/v1/ge tting_started.html#LangNameArray


There has been a lot of concern recently about Google shutting down the Google Translate API. I don't really understand the details but it may not mean shutting down the Google Translate webpage, but may affect access to it via other web pages and maybe programs like LWT. They even mention a pay version. Loss of access to GT would certainly make the LWT environment less productive.

What is your interpretation of this announcement?

http://googlecode.blogspot.com/2011/05/spring-cleaning-for-s ome-of-our-apis.html
1 person has voted this message useful



Michel1020
Tetraglot
Senior Member
Belgium
Joined 3529 days ago

365 posts - 559 votes 
Speaks: French*, English, Spanish, Dutch

 
 Message 107 of 354
05 August 2011 at 11:02pm | IP Logged 

If you open a dictionary or a translator in LWT - you have to copy and paste the result to the LWT entry - therefore opening the dictionary in LWT or in another tab of your browser make few or no difference.


1 person has voted this message useful



lwtproject
Pentaglot
Senior Member
Netherlands
https://learning-wit
Joined 3404 days ago

149 posts - 262 votes 
Speaks: French, Dutch*, German, English, Mandarin
Studies: Italian

 
 Message 108 of 354
05 August 2011 at 11:35pm | IP Logged 
tommus wrote:

There has been a lot of concern recently about Google shutting down the Google Translate API. I don't really
understand the details but it may not mean shutting down the Google Translate webpage, but may affect access
to it via other web pages and maybe programs like LWT. They even mention a pay version. Loss of access to GT
would certainly make the LWT environment less productive.

What is your interpretation of this announcement?


http://googlecode.blogspot.com/2011/05/spring-cleaning-for-s ome-of-our-apis.html


I know this. Therefore I don't use the API as e.g. LingQ does. I just _call_ the Google Translate Website like a user
does it manually. If URI changes, you can change it on the Language screen. THe only things that can happen: ads
will be displayed, or Google disallows the call via URI.
1 person has voted this message useful



lwtproject
Pentaglot
Senior Member
Netherlands
https://learning-wit
Joined 3404 days ago

149 posts - 262 votes 
Speaks: French, Dutch*, German, English, Mandarin
Studies: Italian

 
 Message 109 of 354
05 August 2011 at 11:40pm | IP Logged 
Michel1020 wrote:

If you open a dictionary or a translator in LWT - you have to copy and paste the result to the LWT entry - therefore
opening the dictionary in LWT or in another tab of your browser make few or no difference.



Copy from a dictionary and Paste into LWT cannot be automated. You have to think yourself what to copy, and it's
part of the learning process.

The dictionary frame opens in LWT automatically, no need to type the term again, and you see the result not in
second tab.
1 person has voted this message useful



Michel1020
Tetraglot
Senior Member
Belgium
Joined 3529 days ago

365 posts - 559 votes 
Speaks: French*, English, Spanish, Dutch

 
 Message 110 of 354
07 August 2011 at 11:48am | IP Logged 
I prefer to use dictionary in new tab or out of browser with local dictionary - because I have a small 10 inches screen.

This freedom in the way to use LWT is very pleasant.

One big advantage compare to lingq is that you are not forced to get all the updates. If you are happy with your version you do not have to update. On the other side when lingq makes an update you have to take it either you like it or not.

With LWT, it is even possible to test an update - install it in a new dir - test it - if you like it then use it else go back using your previous working version.
1 person has voted this message useful



tommus
Senior Member
CanadaRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4378 days ago

979 posts - 1686 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Dutch, French, Esperanto, German, Spanish

 
 Message 111 of 354
07 August 2011 at 4:34pm | IP Logged 
Michel1020 wrote:
If you open a dictionary or a translator in LWT - you have to copy and paste the result to the LWT entry

One thing that makes this process very simple is to use the AutoCopy add-on in Firefox (may be something similar in other browsers). Just highlight the translated term or words in the Google Translate window. They are automatically copied to the system clipboard. Right click in the LWT term translation window and paste. As lwtproject says, such an action is part of the learning process when you consciously decide what to copy.


Edited by tommus on 07 August 2011 at 4:35pm

1 person has voted this message useful



Michel1020
Tetraglot
Senior Member
Belgium
Joined 3529 days ago

365 posts - 559 votes 
Speaks: French*, English, Spanish, Dutch

 
 Message 112 of 354
07 August 2011 at 5:12pm | IP Logged 
Thank you Tommus.

For me copy and paste is not that difficult - at least not the part where you have to click copy or press CTRL+C or use the add-on you are talking about.




1 person has voted this message useful



This discussion contains 354 messages over 45 pages: << Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45  Next >>


Post ReplyPost New Topic Printable version Printable version

You cannot post new topics in this forum - You cannot reply to topics in this forum - You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum - You cannot create polls in this forum - You cannot vote in polls in this forum


This page was generated in 2.1719 seconds.


DHTML Menu By Milonic JavaScript
Copyright 2020 FX Micheloud - All rights reserved
No part of this website may be copied by any means without my written authorization.