Triglot
United States
Joined 5423 days ago

206 posts - 239 votes 
Speaks: English*, German, Latin
Studies: Spanish, Portuguese, Mandarin, French

Message 233 of 361
26 December 2011 at 9:20pm | IP Logged 
If I'm studying both Mandarin Chinese and Portuguese, which team should I join? Thanks!
1 person has voted this message useful

Chung
Diglot
Joined 6915 days ago

4228 posts - 8259 votes 
20 sounds
Speaks: English*, French
Studies: Polish, Slovak, Uzbek, Turkish, Korean, Finnish

Message 234 of 361
26 December 2011 at 9:35pm | IP Logged 
Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be a Sinitic-Romance team yet (you could try to propose one!) but you do have a few teams that would welcome you anyway since most groups meant for people studying languages from at least two families take it as "either-or".

Team Žá (at least one from Romance or Slavonic)
Team 德 (at least one from Sinitic or Germanic)
Team The Romantics (at least one from Romance)
Team East Asia (provisionally: Team 龍 / Луу) (at least one of Japanese, Korean, Mongolian, a Sinitic language (e.g. Cantonese, Mandarin, Taiwanese), Thai, Tibetan or Vietnamese)

songlines
Pro Member
Canada
flickr.com/photos/cp
Joined 4968 days ago

729 posts - 1056 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: French
Personal Language Map

Message 235 of 361
26 December 2011 at 10:26pm | IP Logged 
Jinx wrote:

...Although I'm already on two teams myself (Freutsch and Catalan) and am therefore booked up, I would like to
suggest that a just-German team be created, on the basis of the last few pages of posts in this thread. Many teams
are getting rather large already, and there seems to be an unprecedented number of people focusing (exclusively or
simply primarily) on German for this TAC. Just my two cents!

Looking at the thread, it seems a good suggestion, Jinx. Or even "Just Germanic..", to include anyone
studying Dutch.   I'm already happily signed up for The Romantics, but perhaps one of the German-learners might