mcsice
United States
Joined 4563 days ago

13 posts - 14 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: Spanish

Message 1 of 5
19 December 2011 at 12:46am | IP Logged 
I studied Spanish for 5 years back in high school and college which was nearly 20 years ago. Although I could read and write fairly well, my speaking and listening comprehension was poor. I never kept up with it and have forgotten most of what I had learned.

About 3 months ago I started actively studying Spanish again, motivated by love. My boyfriend is from Mexico. His English is at a solid B1 level. We manage to communicate fairly well most of the time. However, our language barrier often results in some hilarious conversations. We have been studying together on a regular basis so that he can improve his English and I my Spanish.

My goal is to go from an A1 to B1 by the end of 2012. My plan of attack includes:
  • FSI Spanish Basic and Programmatic
  • Learning Spanish Like Crazy audio course
  • Practice Makes Perfect Spanish Verbs, Spanish Pronouns and Complete Spanish Grammar workbooks
  • Verbarrator - for verb conjugation
  • Spanish Audio Flashcards - Android app
  • Anki flashcards
  • Learning With Texts
  • Music - Most of the music I listen to now is in Spanish, learning the words to my favorite songs and translating them
  • LoMas Tv - Spanish Immersion TV online
  • And of course speaking with my boyfriend as much as my vocabulary permits

I recently participated in November's 6 Week Challenge and averaged around 1-2 hours per day of concentrated study. It was great motivation for me and I definitely think that participating in the TAC will help me to keep the momentum going. I look forward to this challenge with the rest of my teammates
2 persons have voted this message useful

Kerrie
United States
justpaste.it/Kerrie2
Joined 5185 days ago

1232 posts - 1740 votes 

Message 2 of 5
28 December 2011 at 2:47am | IP Logged