lunaslanglog.wordpreRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4881 days ago

77 posts - 99 votes 
Speaks: English*, German
Studies: Russian, Mandarin, Korean

Message 9 of 26
31 December 2011 at 10:29pm | IP Logged 
silverpolyglot wrote:

According to my professor (who greatly dislikes the NPCR series) the entire NPCR series
(that's all 6 books) will
only bring you to about the B1-B2 level, equivalent to the Boya intermediate series
book 1 or 2 and HSK level 2.
So I suppose it's all about what your goals are. I like the NPCR because it builds a
bit on previous knowledge and
it gradually weens us off of pinyin and right into characters (in later books), but I
have no personal experience
with Boya so I can't say anything about it!

That about NPCR is kind of disappointing to me... we're only just on NPCR book 2 and
I'm in my second year of University, but we're only moving onto book 4 in the final
year. If I end up leaving Uni at a B2, I don't see it as having been a significant use
of my time, overall :/

I'm suddenly really glad I've joined up to TAC this year, though! I'll have to start
pushing myself harder than my lecturers do! :]
1 person has voted this message useful

silverpolyglot
Diglot
Groupie
Canada
silverchallanges.wor
Joined 4717 days ago

42 posts - 72 votes 
Speaks: English*, Somali
Studies: French, Swedish, Mandarin

Message 10 of 26
01 January 2012 at 3:50am | IP Logged 
My university is the same way except in the final year of "advanced" Chinese, we would
only reach NPCR book 3! I'm sure by doing the TAC challenge you could become so advanced
in your studies you might be able to skip a year of Chinese studies at your school and go
right to the advanced level! You can do it Luna, good luck!!

NickJS
United Kingdom
flickr.com/photos/sg
Joined 4762 days ago

264 posts - 334 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Russian, Portuguese, Mandarin, Cantonese

Message 11 of 26
02 January 2012 at 11:20pm | IP Logged 
TAC Update, 02/01/2012.