Germany
lunaslanglog.wordpreRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4837 days ago

77 posts - 99 votes 
Speaks: English*, German
Studies: Russian, Mandarin, Korean

Message 1 of 29
27 December 2011 at 11:43pm | IP Logged 
Hi, all :]. This is my first ever TAC and I'm all excited to be a part of Team 德. My
main focus languages for this year are German and Mandarin (hence the team), but I'm
going to be studying Swahili too - and I'll probably (definitely) suffer from some
wanderlust as well. So there'll be more than a few languages sprinkled throughout this
log, I think.

Now, for some info:

Deutsch
Background: I started learning German at school eight years ago, and I'm afraid
to say that my skills at the moment do not reflect that amount of learning time. Not
even close. I'm moving to Germany in September (/October) until February 2013, so I
have that time to pull myself up and prepare.
Current Level: B1
Goal: I'd like to be at a secure B2 level by August-ish, so that I can spend my
time in Germany improving and hopefully be up to a tentative C1 by the time I leave.
Specific Goals: I want to read a million words (approximately) this year, plus
I've set myself specific targets for writing and media consumption. They're provisional
at the moment because I'm going to use January as a benchmark to see how much I
actually get done.
Resources: I'll mainly be using native materials at this point. German is one of
the two languages I study for my degree, so I have language classes, a speaking class
and a thematic module - all taught primarily in German. My coursework will count
towards my particular goals because it's all practice. I'm going to read books - I want
to get through the entire Harry Potter series this year - and watch films, as well as
playing games on my DS in German.

中文
Background: I began Mandarin properly when I began University in October 2010;
it's the other language I'm studying for my degree. Over the summer, I had the chance