Amerykanka
Hexaglot
United States
Joined 4966 days ago

657 posts - 890 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish, Polish, Latin, Ancient Greek, Russian

Message 1 of 119
28 December 2011 at 4:32am | IP Logged 
It is almost 2012, and I am very excited about participating in the TAC for the first time ever! Where I live
there aren't very many language fanatics (if there are any at all besides me, since I have yet to meet any
others), so I am thrilled to have so many language-crazy teammates.

My main languages for 2012 (or at least the first six months) will be Polish, Spanish, and Latin. And - exciting
news - as of today, I am also studying Welsh! Yay! :) At the beginning of December I decided to try to learn
as much Welsh as I could over the holidays, and now I am fascinated by the language (the mutations are just
so neat!) and can't bear to stop learning it. So I am making it official and adding it to my list of languages. It
isn't quite such a high priority as my other languages, but much of my spare time will certainly be spent on
Welsh.

Tomorrow I will post more detailed information about my languages and goals for 2012.

Edited by Amerykanka on 14 December 2012 at 3:49am

1 person has voted this message useful

Amerykanka
Hexaglot
United States
Joined 4966 days ago

657 posts - 890 votes 

Message 2 of 119
29 December 2011 at 1:04am | IP Logged 
Polish is my favorite language and the one I have been studying the longest (almost five years). It is
also the language I am most competent in besides English. I can read very well and my listening
comprehension is good, although it needs some improvement. I am comfortable with most aspects of Polish
grammar and consequently can write pretty well; plenty of errors still manage to creep in, though. As for
speaking - it is definitely my weakest skill. My pronunciation is good, but I still have trouble when called upon
to speak more than a few sentences in a row.