Diglot
United States
Joined 6180 days ago

110 posts - 115 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish
Studies: Latin, Russian

Message 1 of 9
28 December 2011 at 8:57pm | IP Logged 
I am so excited to kick start my Russian that I've already begun a full force learning
routine.

Introduction-

My name is Shaun. I go by senor_smile here. I have been fascinated with all things
foreign for as long as I can remember. I first picked up a russian book when I was
around 8. This is also when I learned to say and write the Greek alphabet. I thought
that everyone learned the Greek alphabet when they were little, so I tried having
contests with adults to see how could say it the quickest. I soon found out that no
one actually new the whole thing.

I started learning Latin at 10, using a book I checked out from the library. I ended
up losing that book, paying for it, then finding it behind my bed or something. I
started Spanish at 12, when I met this crazy kid who barely spoke English whose family
recently relocated from Mexico for a job. Su casa literally became mi casa as I spent
most of my time there. Many novelas and random conversations later, I suddenly could
converse fluidly and without thinking about it.

I continued trying to learn Latin without any real success throughout my teen years.
I discovered Pimsleur and checked out everything I could from libraries and even found
a few harder to locate ones on the internet. I began French, Italian, Portuguese,
Russian, Mandarin, Japanese, Modern Hebrew among others.

At some point I found this forum, and was sold on the solid grounding and
effectiveness of the Assimil series. I can now count which full Assimil courses I
don't have on one hand. The problem is that I have mostly only browsed through them
all. I seriously studied the Dutch and Japanese ones, but didn't follow through with
these skills to maintain and allow them to flourish.

2012 Language Learning Goals-