Joined 5129 days ago

980 posts - 1594 votes 
Speaks: Italian*, English, German
Studies: Russian, Swedish, French

Message 361 of 439
11 January 2014 at 11:34pm | IP Logged 
fabriciocarraro wrote:
[...]

I've been taking the lessons with "Japanese for Busy People", which I like very much so far, but I'm thinking on changing to "Genki". I feel that I'm only learning the formal part with JFBP, while Genki seems to teach more about the informal speech. What do you think about it?

I'm also listening to JapanesePod101 everyday, and it's great! Much better than I expected also... I just have to start putting new words and sentences into Anki, otherwise I'll just forget them.

[...]

I’m treasuring all your reflections about the early stages of learning Japanese! When the time comes for me to tackle this fascinating language I’ll certainly profit from what I can glean from your posts. Keep up the great job!
1 person has voted this message useful

fabriciocarraro
Hexaglot
Winner TAC 2012
Brazil
russoparabrasileirosRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4497 days ago

989 posts - 1454 votes 
Speaks: Portuguese*, EnglishB2, Italian, Spanish, Russian, French
Studies: Dutch, German, Japanese

Message 362 of 439
16 January 2014 at 9:41am | IP Logged 
@Emme Good to hear that! =)

---

So, another CouchSurfing meeting went by, and it was my last one for some time, since I'll be taking an evening programming course for the next 2 weeks. Luckily, it was a great one! I managed to practice almost all my languages! Besides a lot of English and Portuguese, I spoke some Russian, French, Italian and Dutch with natives =)