Netherlands
Joined 6570 days ago

856 posts - 1226 votes 
Speaks: EnglishC2*, Norwegian*, Polish*, Italian, Dutch, French
Studies: Portuguese, Mandarin

Message 9 of 76
29 January 2012 at 10:40am | IP Logged 
ellasevia wrote:
(I’m not brave enough to write something like this in Italian just yet…)

You're not fooling anyone, Philip, I've seen you write good Italian before.
1 person has voted this message useful

Solfrid Cristin
Heptaglot
Winner TAC 2011 & 2012
Norway
Joined 5121 days ago

4143 posts - 8864 votes 
Speaks: Norwegian*, Spanish, Swedish, French, English, German, Italian
Studies: Russian

Message 10 of 76
29 January 2012 at 2:42pm | IP Logged 
ellasevia wrote:

OTHER
Earlier this week, I started learning Braille on a whim. I know that it's not a foreign language in its own right, but it's like one in that you have to learn a whole new way of perceiving information and such.

God, this brings back old, forgotten memories. When I was 17 I did the same thing, and wrote down all the letters and put them up on the wall of the toilet which I shared with the other 4 students at my student dorm. I figured some of them spent so long in there, that they might enjoy learning something. One of my fellow students thought it was brilliant, because since I had drawn up an extra empty rectangle after the last letter, he assumed this was some sort of mathematical riddle, and was really enthusiastic when he could give me the answer. When I told him that there was no answer, that I had just written an empty rectangle to make it look symmetrical, and that this was Braille, he just looked at me like I was a worm, and decided I was a total nerd.
3 persons have voted this message useful

ReneeMona
Diglot
Netherlands
Joined 5122 days ago

864 posts - 1274 votes 
Speaks: Dutch*, EnglishC2
Studies: French

Message 11 of 76
29 January 2012 at 3:16pm | IP Logged 
Solfrid Cristin wrote:
God, this brings back old, forgotten memories. When I was 17 I