864 posts - 1274 votes 
Speaks: Dutch*, EnglishC2
Studies: French

Message 9 of 29
22 January 2012 at 12:08pm | IP Logged 
Week 3: January 15 – January 21

Total this week: 10.92 hours
Total 2012: 42.43 hours

As I suspected, this was a lousy week. I only studied for 10 hours and that's even though I studied languages when I should really have been studying for my tests so if I had had any self-discipline, this week would have been even worse. It mainly revolved around French and German with a bit of Esperanto. Both Englishes (of course that's a word, you stupid spell check, use you imagination) have been shamelessly neglected. I did finally look up all the words I underlined in Passing but that doesn't count as study time. Apart from that, I've already had to ward off the first attacks of wanderlust. I have a new co-worker who is from Venezuela and who says my Spanish pronunciation is very good (I suspect he said this because it was the only nice thing he could think of) so I have been tempted to dust off some of my old Spanish books. Other languages that have been on my mind a lot are Norwegian and Greek but I managed to abstain by promising myself that they will be my target languages for two of the 6 week challenges so I will get to focus solely on them for six weeks (*excitement*).

Français
This week: 6.58 hours
2012: 26.35 hours

Podcasts! I think I'm getting a little addicted to these podcasts so it's a good thing I have hundreds of them on standby. I listened to another seven this week so that brings the total so far up to sixteen. Pretty good when you consider that I originally set the goal of two per week.