Diglot
Australia
Joined 5351 days ago

766 posts - 1020 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish
Studies: Dutch, Polish

Message 1 of 123
04 January 2012 at 6:33am | IP Logged 
Here we are again at the birth of another new year, bringing with it fertile beginnings in which to form and sew
are intentions, and a stilled, clear outlook with which to see them through.. The opportunity to reflect on the year
past, and ponder the one ahead.

El Español

It was roughly 15 months ago, in October 2010, that I started learning this most wonderful language, and I’m
still as enthralled and motivated today as I ever was.

Spanish will again be my main language for the year and where most of my time will be going, yet I’ll be focusing
more on the active side of things this year and on the cultural aspects of Spain and Latin America, rather than
passing the time doing workbooks. As I feel that I have the most important features of the grammar down, and
that all that there remains for me to do on this never ending climb of improvement and increased familiarity is to
continue to refine my Spanish via osmosis of native materials, selectively study particular pieces of grammar
which I wish to strengthen and become more confident with, and to (vastly) increase my vocabulary.
So my materials for this year will mainly be books written by native authors and tv shows and films from Spanish
speaking countries. I’ll also be writing little stories, reviews and thoughts about things as I always do, putting
new words into Anki and reviewing daily, and hopefully finding some Spaniards/Latin Americans with whom to
talk.

Aims & Level: I guess my current level in Spanish is a low B2 for all areas except for speaking, which is probably a
B1. Therefore this year I’ll be striving to reach B2 with my speaking, and C1 for every other area. ¡Vamos!

Polski

Polski!! I’m excited about this one. As with my Dutch, the reasons for studying this language are both varied and
complex.