FuroraCeltica
Triglot
United Kingdom
Joined 6645 days ago

1187 posts - 1427 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish, French

Message 1 of 41
05 January 2012 at 1:17am | IP Logged 
I was reading a Russian self taught course the other day, published in the 1970s. It said things like "When you visit the Soviet Union..." which I thought was rather quirky. I also have a self taught German course from about 1905 which spends several chapters teaching you to read the old gothic script. Is there anything in old language courses you find interesting?
4 persons have voted this message useful

Serpent
Octoglot
Russian Federation
serpent-849.livejour
Joined 6377 days ago

9753 posts - 15779 votes 
4 sounds
Speaks: Russian*, English, FinnishC1, Latin, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese
Studies: Danish, Romanian, Polish, Belarusian, Ukrainian, Croatian, Slovenian, Catalan, Czech, Galician, Dutch, Swedish

Message 2 of 41
05 January 2012 at 1:25am | IP Logged 
A sentence for translation: "By 2000 the population of the USSR will reach 300 mln".

We were doing that exercise in 2006. xDDD
4 persons have voted this message useful

Iversen
Super Polyglot
Denmark
berejst.dk
Joined 6483 days ago

9078 posts - 16473 votes 
Speaks: Danish*, French, English, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish, Esperanto, Romanian, Catalan
Studies: Afrikaans, Greek, Norwegian, Russian, Serbian, Icelandic, Latin, Irish, Lowland Scots, Indonesian, Polish, Croatian
Personal Language Map

Message 3 of 41
05 January 2012 at 2:21am | IP Logged