Bilingual Triglot
United States
Joined 4848 days ago

391 posts - 550 votes 
Speaks: English*, Bulgarian*, Spanish
Studies: Danish

Message 1 of 31
04 February 2012 at 2:18am | IP Logged 
     This is my Danish Language Learning Log. I've tried to start studying Scandinavian languages before but I've
never gotten far. I recently heard Danish and it sounded much more fluid and beautiful than I'd expect. I've never
learned a language before on my own, as Spanish is a school requirement (although I do enjoy it greatly), and I am
making some headway in French through sheer osmosis. The goal of this blog is to reach a level of fluency high
enough to read Hans Christian Andersen's short stories. I figure that if I can reach this level, I'll no longer be able
to put the language aside because I'll have enough access to basic literature to maintain it.

I started learning Danish as of yesterday (February 2, 2012) and I am currently up to Lesson 20 in a Mango
Languages program on Danish. I know that this won't get me far but I rather enjoy having the correct
pronunciation that the program offers as the many vowel sounds in Danish certainly will not be easy. If anyone has
any useful materials, advice, or commentary on Danish to offer me, I'll gladly welcome it.

As of now, the most complicated statement that I know in Danish is:
Det er hyggeligt at møde dig - It's nice to meet you

EDIT: I'm amending this log to include the TAC 2014 challenge for the Scandinavian Team(team name TBD). All of the TAC posts will begin on Page 4, log post 29.

Edited by Kartof on 21 December 2013 at 7:45pm

3 persons have voted this message useful

a3
Triglot
Bulgaria
Joined 5038 days ago

273 posts - 370 votes 
Speaks: Bulgarian*, English, Russian
Studies: Portuguese, German, Italian, Spanish, Norwegian, Finnish

Message 2 of 31
04 February 2012 at 7:33am | IP Logged