Triglot
Sweden
Joined 4681 days ago

19 posts - 36 votes
Speaks: English*, SwedishC1, French
Studies: Dutch, Russian, Modern Hebrew

Message 1 of 9
06 February 2012 at 5:40pm | IP Logged 
Wow! This is a long post. If you want to get right to the point then skip down to the line-break.

A while ago, someone on this forum started a thread about accents.

In my reply, to whatever the question was, I stated that I am able to do a pretty decent Russian accent despite not speaking Russian. I said that I believe it is because I have lots of Russian friends and family back in LA, and after hearing them speak so much I became able to imitate their accents. My thinking was and has been that simply being surrounded by people who speak a certain way will make it very easy to start talking like them.

But then I started thinking about my current situation with Swedish. I have been living in Sweden since late 2009. I started studying and speaking Swedish as soon as I got here, but I still, for the life of me cannot sound even remotely Swedish.
So why is it that at one time I was able to do such a good Russian accent, so good that I could fool Russian speakers into thinking I was one of them but I am unable to imitate a Swedish accent despite living here for over 2 years, interacting with Swedish speakers every single day and actually speaking Swedish?