Joined 4489 days ago

87 posts - 167 votes 
Speaks: French*, English
Studies: Spanish

Message 9 of 55
23 February 2012 at 6:43pm | IP Logged 
Thanks for the links Michael.

Quote:
I've heard the Assimil for Esperanto isn't that good.

Is that true ? Because it happens that I've heard the same thing for Assimil Le Coréen
(Korean), I finally bought it and, let alone romanization, I don't understand why such a
reputation. I'm a beginner in Korean so maybe I missing something...
2 persons have voted this message useful

Sprachprofi
Nonaglot
Germany
learnlangs.comRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 6258 days ago

2608 posts - 4866 votes 
Speaks: German*, English, French, Esperanto, Greek, Mandarin, Latin, Dutch, Italian
Studies: Spanish, Arabic (Written), Swahili, Indonesian, Japanese, Modern Hebrew, Portuguese

Message 10 of 55
23 February 2012 at 7:17pm | IP Logged 
Everything wrote:
So the question : what's the best method to learn it ? Lernu is
free
but seems a bit slowly. Assimil I guess.

There are 12 different courses on Lernu; one of them should fit your style. I tend to
recommend "Ana Pana" followed by "Ana Renkontas", and maybe some of the audio course
version of "Mi estas komencanto" to listen to on the go; it's a bit like Pimsleur. For
the Ana series you can get a free mentor ("lingvohelpanto") who will correct your
exercises and answer your questions.

I do love that German 10-lesson course, which is a lot more thorough than the Pacujo
10-lesson course. They are presently working on a new version, which will also include
audio, my biggest complaint against it. I learned Esperanto using that course.

As for Assimil Esperanto, it's not bad for a start, but the later lessons feature some
weird "common expressions" or sayings that I never heard in the wild. The audio could
also be better.

Do check if there's an Esperanto course nearby. Find your local group through
http://esperanto-france.org/ and ask them about classes. A class can get you