tajosto
Czech Republic
Joined 4443 days ago

54 posts - 64 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Czech

Message 1 of 60
04 March 2012 at 4:37pm | IP Logged 
Hello, I recently moved to Czech Republic, and started learning Czech on my own a few months ago. I'm hoping
that keeping this language learning log will help increase my consistency and motivation with learning. I've been
making slow progress, probably because it's my first time learning another language (not counting Latin in high
school), so I've been floundering around quite a bit, trying to figure out which methods work best for me. I'm so
happy to have discovered this forum, which seems to have a great, supportive communitiy and many resource
suggestions!

Methods tried so far:

• Using InternetPolyglot to learn vocabulary. Works well when I'm in the right mood, and I appreciate the
combination of images, sounds, and written word. But I'm mostly trying to learn vocabulary in context these days
rather than just memorize isolated words.

• LiveMocha: I found the community aspect wonderful, particularly the way that submitting writing and speaking
is worked into the lessons, and that feedback from native speakers very quickly. However, the content of the
actual lessons, at least for Czech, was unclear at times, and actually seemed to be completely incorrect for some
lessons. So, although I am tempted to go back for the community, I'm not keen on learning incorrect material.

• LingQ: I appreciate the reading and listening aspect, but find that the lessons are too unstructured and random,
at least for the beginning Czech category.

• Teach Yourself Czech, Czech Step by Step. I didn't much like either of these books, but I really like Colloquial
Czech and am waiting to get the audio CD in the mail.

• book2: I just got the book, audio, and the iphone app, and really like them.

• Watching Czech movies and television and adding vocabulary and sentences into Anki. Also doing this with