Congo
Joined 5828 days ago

199 posts - 346 votes 
Speaks: Spanish*, English
Studies: French, Portuguese

Message 33 of 164
07 April 2012 at 12:17am | IP Logged 
hrhenry wrote:
The first foreign language that I studied, and the one that continues to be my strongest is Spanish. I had studied it pretty thoroughly for five years before moving to Mexico. I can say with no hesitation that I was immersed for eight or more hours trying to use Spanish and was nowhere close to fluency after five days, as Steve is contemplating. I know it was a gradual thing, but somewhere between three and four months, something clicked and I felt like I could finally communicate with people. But those first few months were a hard road to travel.

R.
==

maybe in a couple of years/decades physical "moving" to the country and old fashioned "immersion" won't be that necessary anymore

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8hJZ2bre_FI
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mdkz59vfn3g

just saying.. sorry for "hijacking" the thread
1 person has voted this message useful

hrhenry
Octoglot
United States
languagehopper.blogs
Joined 4889 days ago

1871 posts - 3642 votes 
Speaks: English*, SpanishC2, ItalianC2, Norwegian, Catalan, Galician, Turkish, Portuguese
Studies: Polish, Indonesian, Ojibwe

Message 34 of 164
07 April 2012 at 12:31am | IP Logged 
tmp011007 wrote:

maybe in a couple of years/decades physical "moving" to the country and old fashioned "immersion" won't be that necessary anymore

I'd seen the second video before. I don't doubt that with time this type of thing will become more common and, in fact, a great aid in learning another language.

Still won't be in 5 days though. Steve's video title is entirely misleading.

R.
==
1 person has voted this message useful

irishpolyglot
Nonaglot
Ireland
fluentin3months
Joined 5392 days ago

285 posts - 892 votes 
Speaks: Irish, English*, French, Esperanto, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, German, Sign Language
Studies: Mandarin

Message 35 of 164