Czech RepublicRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4417 days ago

15 posts - 18 votes
Speaks: Czech*, Slovak, EnglishC1
Studies: Polish, Latin, FrenchB2, Persian, Italian

Message 1 of 9
09 April 2012 at 12:03am | IP Logged 
Welcome on board! :)

I am a Czech student in History, Latin and Medieval French Philology at the Charles University in Prague who is recently studying at the Sorbonne University in Paris. Although my first foreign language was English, followed by some flirting with German and slight insights into other Slavic languages, I've always been naturally attracted to Romance languages, mostly because of their rich vocabulary and melodic sound.
Therefore there is no wonder I've decided to devote my year of 2012 to the studies and improvement of two of them, namely Italian and French.

Strange as it may seem, until quite recently the most advanced of my Romance languages has actually been - Latin. :) As I am currently majoring in Medieval Latin, I studied all its aspects, from the classical Latin to the three main pronunciation varieties, and I even partly managed to get it fluent and treat it as a living language (which is commonly required in our department, I am not a geek all alone!).

My French was hanging somewhere around the A2 level, due to both lack of time and inconsistent studying approach (for a long time I have been actually better in reading 15th century texts in moyen français, which I know quite well, than in contemporary French. That's why I decided to get the ball rolling and move for one year to Paris!