learnlatvian.info
Joined 6311 days ago

734 posts - 1036 votes 
Speaks: Latvian*, English, German, Russian
Studies: Korean, Finnish

Message 1 of 559
24 April 2012 at 3:53pm | IP Logged 
Hi everyone, welcome to my log!

As the title says, I'm studying Korean and Finnish. I'm a beginner in both though my Finnish is definitely better - as it should be, considering how long I've studied it.

This is my second language learning log. I started the first one for the TAC 2008 (it was about learning Finnish) and I'm ashamed to admit I didn't reach my goal. I thought I could do it but I lost my motivation so everything stopped. In the three years that followed, I forgot almost everything I had learned.

I don't want to write too much about myself, it's all in the old log - or, I should say, I think it's in the old log because I don't remember very well what's in there and what's not and I have no desire to reread it (knowing how it will end). Let me just say that I've been doing graduate studies (not language-related) and now I'm looking for a job. In the meantime, I have a lot of free time so I thought studying languages would be a good way to spend it. I love languages, and in addition to those in my profile I also know Spanish to an intermediate level and I've also studied French for 3 years at school (it was not very productive though).

So why am I studying Finnish and Korean? For Finnish, the answer is much the same as it was 4 years ago - it's an interesting and challenging language and its sound is somewhat similar to Latvian. Plus I already started it 4 years ago and I don't like to admit defeat. So I hope this time the result will be better (at least an intermediate level) than last time.