learnlatvian.info
Joined 6334 days ago

734 posts - 1036 votes 
Speaks: Latvian*, English, German, Russian
Studies: Korean, Finnish

Message 89 of 559
15 June 2012 at 10:11am | IP Logged 
Quote:
This is true with many words in Korean. Another example is that 사랑 is the pure Korean word for love, but 애(愛) is the Chinese root meaning "love" which is found in words like 애인(愛人; lover).

This is all so interesting and new to me. I had read about the connection to Chinese and Hanja but not in any detail. Having to learn two basic roots for many words should be fun, haha. Or not. In any case, it's fascinating.

Quote:
A few months ago Naver added an English interface option to their dictionary

This is great. It still has too much Korean for my comfort but maybe that's not a bad thing. Too bad it's aimed at Koreans who are learning English and not the other way around.

Speaking of what I studied yesterday, well, not much. I'm looking forward to the weekend when I'll have more time and energy to spend on languages. I definitely want to finish the 7th lesson of my Finnish textbook, the majority of vocabulary is already in Anki. I don't think I'll do the exercises though, they are no fun.

My daily review count for Korean is already above 40 and it'll keep on growing. However, though reviewing the Korean deck takes more time (because of the typing) it's not as frustrating as the Finnish deck because I learn the words gradually - first recognition, then production. With the Finnish deck, I forget words much more often (especially new words) because I'm going straight for production.

I didn't listen to a new TTMIK lesson, just repeated lesson 6. The quiz at the end was difficult. I understood some of it but I didn't recognize the word 내일 because the first letter was pronounced like a 'd' and because it had some kind of particle at the end that turned the 'l' into 'r'. I'll try to keep these things in mind in the future when trying listening comprehension.