learnlatvian.info
Joined 6311 days ago

734 posts - 1036 votes 
Speaks: Latvian*, English, German, Russian
Studies: Korean, Finnish

Message 33 of 559
15 May 2012 at 1:14pm | IP Logged 
viedums wrote:
Your remarks about how Finnish sounds like Latvian are interesting. It makes me wonder about the phenomenon of vowel harmony that exists in Latvian – the way ‘es vēlos’ is pronounced with an open ē but ‘tu vēlies’ with a closed one. I’m curious if this could be attributed to contact with Finnish, although it seems that Finnish vowel harmony works in the opposite direction, i.e. the initial vowel influences what follows. And according to Wikipedia, “standard Estonian has lost its vowel harmony.” Hmm… in any case it might make that aspect of Finnish easier to pick up.

I don't think the open and closed 'e' that Latvian has can be attributed to vowel harmony. In fact, vowel harmony was a new concept for me when I started learning Finnish. The things that are easier in Finnish because of knowing Latvian are speaking and listening comprehension. As I mentioned earlier, Finnish has only two vowels that don't exist in Latvian, all the other sounds are pronounced pretty much the same so it's familiar and easy - much easier than to learn how to read in English, Russian, or German.

Also, I get a kick out of every time I come across a Finnish word that looks like a Latvian word. Usually they don't mean the same thing (except for 'maksaa' and 'vai' and maybe some others) but it's still fun. For example, the word 'aste' means 'degree' in Finnish but 'tail' in Latvian.

Finnish

My Anki word count is 395. I like that the number is going up quite quickly but I had to do about 40 reviews yesterday and today. I don't like that many reviews, I want to keep it light, and nice, and easy (otherwise I'll get overwhelmed and stop using Anki at all) so I'll probably slow down a bit and see how it goes. I'd like to keep the daily reviews under 30.