or Spanish.

HA! Romance languages are not easy. Have you seen all the articles and
prepositions? Russian is so simple: no articles and no present tense "to
be". It is so easy to say something in Russian. Italian has thirty little
words in every sentence. Half the time you have to perform confusing
contractions as well. And all the words run together with so many vowels
to tie up your tongue.

When I started studying Russian, I never thought I would say this,
but...give me something simple like a Slavic language!

Edited by kronos77 on 11 July 2006 at 9:23pm

2 persons have voted this message useful

rafaelrbp
Pentaglot
Brazil
Joined 6772 days ago

181 posts - 201 votes 
Speaks: Portuguese*, Spanish, English, French, Italian
Studies: German

Message 2 of 31
11 July 2006 at 9:00pm | IP Logged 
kronos77 wrote:
HA! Romance languages are not easy. Have you seen all the articles and
prepositions?

You're lucky to be an english native speaker, so you know by heart when to use "at", "in", "on", "up", "to", "for", "by", "with", etc.

Every language requires a little practice before you get used to its nuances, so you shouldn't worry too much about the Romance Languages (unless you're planning to study Latin!)
1 person has voted this message useful

linguanima
Bilingual Tetraglot
Australia
Joined 6477 days ago

114 posts - 123 votes 
3 sounds
Speaks: English*, Mandarin*, Spanish, French
Studies: Italian, Latin, German

Message 3 of 31
11 July 2006 at 9:39pm | IP Logged