AnaBee
Australia
Joined 4190 days ago

1 posts - 1 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: German, Spanish, Modern Hebrew

Message 89 of 99
14 November 2012 at 5:18am | IP Logged 
Sorry for the late registration, I wasn't sure how long it would take to receive my Assimil materials. They arrived today! I am very excited to join this experiment. I am new to Assimil.

Course: Russisch ohne Mühe

Estimated Start Date: November 18

Prior experience with this language: Zero beyond picking up "nyet" from movies/TV.

Any outside resources you might use: Possibly online resources to help me with learning the alphabet. Possibly DVDs with Russian soundtracks to provide more exposure to the spoken language.

Why you chose this language: The alphabet has always fascinated me, plus Russia seems like a very interesting place to visit some day. My mother has learned some Russian and is really enthusiastic about it, if I learn too perhaps I can encourage her to keep it up.

Personal Predictions: I want to get through the book, and I will see what that means for my skill level as I have no experience with Assimil. I tend to start things but run out of steam, so I am using this experiment as motivation to stick to it.

Other languages I'll do (in)formally: I'm currently studying Hebrew (via a 2 hour once per week class) and I will keep that up. Classes end mid-December and won't resume until February, though I will revise on my own and with a friend over the break. I am also taking Spanish classes once a week to revive the Spanish I learned at university about 15 years ago. I plan to keep that up too, though probably on my own after this series of classes finishes (also in December). I'm also planning to watch more DVDs in German (but won't be studying German formally for now). I want to get into a routine of studying the three languages (Russian, Hebrew and Spanish) on a daily basis, even if each is only for a short amount of time.
1 person has voted this message useful

reineke