37 posts - 79 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish
Studies: French, Yiddish, Latin, German, Italian

Message 233 of 344
06 February 2013 at 11:03am | IP Logged 
oruixo13 wrote:
I have a question. What level do you think Assimil brings you? If it
depends on the
language, let's say Chinese, which is the one I am currently studying. Sorry if that
question has already been raised. I've been looking for it without luck.

This is the whole point of the experiment and this thread, to answer that question.

It'll normally say on the front in a blue circle the level at which you should be at by
the end of the course, at least with the new courses. For most full courses of ~100
lessons it'll claim a level of B2. For the shorter lessons it'll normally claim B1.
However people have varying success, and so that is why this experiment was started.

As to the level that Assimil Mandarin will take you, the french version of 105 lessons
claims a B2 level. It appears that there is no claim on the English version. My
flatmate has the first volume of the English version and it appears to progress
extremely slowly (using my previous one year of Chinese study to asses that), so I'm
not sure. Maybe A2 or low B1 would be more realistic?

Edited by jeronz on 06 February 2013 at 11:12am

1 person has voted this message useful

JSBR_C
United States
Joined 4097 days ago

19 posts - 38 votes
Studies: Spanish, Mandarin

Message 234 of 344
07 February 2013 at 3:29pm | IP Logged 
Chinese With Ease

Passive Wave: 50-55
Active Wave: 1-6

I completed my first active week going from the beginning up to the review lesson. It was very easy for me, but I guess it should be given that I'd already done 4 months of Pimsleur prior to starting this.