Register  Login  Active Topics  Maps  

When to start using TL->TL dictionaries?

Language Learning Forum : Advice Center Post Reply
12 messages over 2 pages: 1
James29
Diglot
United States
Joined 5176 days ago

1265 posts - 2113 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish
Studies: French

Message 9 of 12
28 October 2012 at 11:32pm | IP Logged 
I like the monolingual dictionaries that are designed for foreigners. When I was in the Dominican Republic I saw a monolingual Spanish dictionary for "extranjeros." It was entirely in Spanish, but the explanations were all in fairly basic Spanish. When there was something too difficult to describe in basic Spanish they would often use a small picture to help. I was a beginner/intermediate at the time and I thought it looked like a very useful tool. I wish I bought it. I tried to find it in Amazon and could not find the one I was looking at. There are some others, however, that look similar.
2 persons have voted this message useful

cheerbelle7
Triglot
United StatesRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4225 days ago

8 posts - 12 votes
Speaks: English*, Arabic (Levantine), French

Message 10 of 12
03 November 2012 at 11:10pm | IP Logged 
Just my two cents, but I think it helps to switch over to the monolingual dictionary once you are at the level that you can start reading native language materials. If you can watch moview w/o subtitles and read books without translation, I think that you are ready to use the monolingual dictionary. It pushes you more to learn vocabulary from context which is a very important skill for all languages.
1 person has voted this message useful

DaraghM
Diglot
Ireland
Joined 5952 days ago

1947 posts - 2923 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish
Studies: French, Russian, Hungarian

Message 11 of 12
06 November 2012 at 12:25pm | IP Logged 
There are some very good mono-lingual dictionaries for language learners. I'm currently using the following for French,

Dictionnaire du français langue étrangère