Germany
Joined 6254 days ago

18 posts - 25 votes
Speaks: German*, Russian, English
Studies: French, Czech

Message 9 of 107
14 February 2007 at 12:26pm | IP Logged 
Hi Iversen,

just wanted to say some encouraging words about Russian and its moving accents. This is indeed a tricky thing, but one can master it, if listening as often as possible to native speakers. I'd say most of the words with really tricky moving accents are very common words that you hear very often (such as "head", "voice", "window" etc.) and will then pronounce correctly in the end. With other words, especially verbs, there are some rules concerning the accents that will come to you quite automatically after some time of studying. I've been doing Russian for 3,5 years now and make only very few accent mistakes.

Additionally, you've got the immense advantage that, unlike many English speakers, Russians will definitely correct you (friendly) if you make a mistake. They just cannot bear having their beautiful language hurt ;-)

Hope this make you less worried :-),

regards, Tike
1 person has voted this message useful

Iversen
Super Polyglot
Denmark
berejst.dk
Joined 6463 days ago

9078 posts - 16473 votes 
Speaks: Danish*, French, English, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish, Esperanto, Romanian, Catalan
Studies: Afrikaans, Greek, Norwegian, Russian, Serbian, Icelandic, Latin, Irish, Lowland Scots, Indonesian, Polish, Croatian
Personal Language Map

Message 10 of 107
14 February 2007 at 2:51pm | IP Logged 
I'm fairly sure that I will try to tackle the Russian language later this year, - I just have to stabilize my Greek, learn Dutch and maybe give Icelandic one more try first, then I'm ready for Russian and its moving accents. Thanks for the encouragement.

Roger
United Kingdom
Joined 6352 days ago

159 posts - 161 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Italian, Indonesian

Message 11 of 107
16 February 2007 at 6:49am | IP Logged