Diglot
United StatesRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4184 days ago

25 posts - 32 votes
Speaks: English*, Spanish
Studies: French

Message 1 of 20
07 December 2012 at 6:00pm | IP Logged 
This is a question for tri- and higher polyglots. After reaching a certain level of proficiency or even mastery of a second or third language, have you ever gone on to study a new language using study and teaching materials in your non-native language? How would you say this course of action affected your understanding of the new language? Did you learn new things about your already-mastered language that you might not have otherwise learned? And finally, do you think there are some languages that are best taught in a specific language?

This question came to me when I started looking into using the Assimil programs. My native language is English, and I am proficient with Spanish. The language I'm currently studying is French, and I hope to move in to Arabic after that. I checked Assimil to see if they offered an Arabic course, but all they had was l'Arabe (studying Arabic in French, not English). Though it's possible they also offer something in Spanish, that would still not be my native language.

So I wondered. Polyglots, what is it like to learn a new language using something that is not your native tongue?
1 person has voted this message useful

daegga
Tetraglot
Austria
lang-8.com/553301
Joined 4332 days ago

1076 posts - 1792 votes 
Speaks: German*, EnglishC2, Swedish, Norwegian
Studies: Danish, French, Finnish, Icelandic

Message 2 of 20
07 December 2012 at 6:41pm | IP Logged 
I studied Gothic using English materials and some of my Old Norse materials were in Norwegian (especially the stuff about Old Norwegian dialects). Wasn't better or worse than using my native language. Well, maybe the Old Norse - Norwegian dictionary made the relation between the languages clearer and therefore helped me to retain words better.