proudft
United States
Joined 4913 days ago

124 posts - 156 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Mandarin

Message 49 of 111
23 June 2013 at 6:54am | IP Logged 
First three units of Module One down. OK, I like this FSI thing. It is making my brain hurt, but in a good way.   I
could probably stand to do the unit 2 and 3 drills again - that's how badly I am able to formulate my sentences in
time to respond to the Tape Lady - but yeah, this seems exactly like what I need right now.

And it's kinda fun, the voice of Tape Lady is oddly soothing and I printed out a copy of the whole course diagram
and cross off the parts I do with a big pen when I do them.

I still have no idea how this would work out for a complete beginner... but I do remember the pronunciation
modules were the only explanations of the sh and x differences that really made sense to me back when I looked at
those, like, two years ago.   

And randomly today I was talking to some relatives and got multiple genuine compliments from different people on
my pronunciation of my few conversational contributions so I can preen a little bit about that. I just wish I could
think faster on my feet.   Taking 15 seconds to come up with a particular noun doesn't really keep the conversation
going. I really feel like I'm shaping up like one of those kids that never talks but then one day bursts out in
complete sentences at the dining table. One day!

2 persons have voted this message useful

proudft
United States
Joined 4913 days ago

124 posts - 156 votes 

Message 50 of 111
02 July 2013 at 3:18am | IP Logged