United States
Joined 4301 days ago

61 posts - 66 votes 
Speaks: English*, Estonian*
Studies: Spanish, German

Message 1 of 7
09 December 2012 at 5:06pm | IP Logged 
Hi everyone,

This is my first time doing TAC and I'm pretty excited about it. Though I'm terribly tempted to add
Russian, I'm going to hold off on that 'till next year. For this year, I'll be doing Spanish and German with
the Romance and Germanic teams.

A bit about myself: I'm currently entering my last semester as a graduate student, so I struggle to have
time for extra studying, but I tend to make an exception for language study. I've been studying Spanish
for about 1.5 years, off and on. I would say I'm roughly low-intermediate. I can have basic conversations,
but my vocabulary isn't particularly impressive yet, and I still struggle with some irregular verbs and the
subjunctive. Fortunately, I'm about to get some great practice in the form of a 1 month trip to Ecuador,
starting in just over a week. So far I have been using a mix of Pimsleur, Michel Thomas, and Assimil. What
I'll be doing, starting in 2013, is going through the FSI Platiquemos series. I've heard it's intense, and
often quite boring, but I'm excited to take on a solid and thorough method.

In German, I'm probably an advanced beginner.. I've technically had 10 years of classroom instruction,
but I never learned much of anything. I suppose it wasn't all a waste of time though, since I have more of
an ear for the language now and will likely pick up certain things faster. I plan on starting in mid-January
by going through the Michel Thomas method. I have the foundation, advanced, and vocabulary builder
recordings, so I will start there.. After finishing Michel Thomas, I will switch to Assimil and Pimsleur.
While working on Assimil, I'll make vocab and sentence cards in Anki for studying.
For additional audio input in both German and Spanish, I'll listen to radio stations in those languages.

To sum up...