Sweden
Joined 4151 days ago

1 posts - 1 votes
Speaks: Swedish*, English
Studies: Spanish

Message 1 of 21
14 December 2012 at 5:45pm | IP Logged 
Hello everyone,

I've been using Anki for a couple months now to increase my vocabulary in Spanish. I gotta say that I really love how easy it is to use and the spaced repetition that I get definitely helps increasing my vocabulary and the consolidation of the new words and expressions.

One thing I've noticed however; because I have the word or expression in Swedish or English on the "front" of the card, I'm always translating in my head when using Anki. I read somewhere that a guy suggested using an image instead of the word on the front card. Do you think this is a good idea? I was thinking of doing it but then I imagine it'd be difficult to find good pictures to represent idioms and most adjectives.

I've also noticed a bad habit of mine that I seriously think I have to stop doing. It consists of looking up pretty much every word I don't know whenever I'm reading. Not only does this mean it takes forever to get through a book but it also means I'm loading Anki with so many words and expressions that it sometimes takes me well over an hour to get through one day's worth of repetition.
Some words I feel are really unnecessary to put in but I still get tempted to put in some words that I'll probably never really have any use for. An example would be the verb 'osar' which means to dare to do something. I'd use 'atreverse' if I was speaking and I've only seen 'osar' once and that was in a book written in the 19th century. I've never heard it in spoken Spanish either so I'm thinking this might be a case where it'd have been better to not add the word to my Anki deck. How do you guys decide what to put in the Anki deck? And do you sometimes get tempted to add something but then decide that it probably isn't necessary?
1 person has voted this message useful

Serpent
Octoglot
Russian Federation
serpent-849.livejour