Triglot
United States
Joined 4448 days ago

1134 posts - 1865 votes 
Speaks: English*, German, Yiddish
Studies: Modern Hebrew, French, Dutch, Italian, Russian

Message 1 of 251
17 December 2012 at 7:01pm | IP Logged 
Thus begins my TAC2013 log. I will be studying French, and I also will be studying Italian for at least the first few
months. I'm studying Italian primarily in preparation for an expected trip to Italy, and thereafter I'll be ready to
decide whether to continue with Italian or to concentrate on other languages.

French
------
I have been studying French for about 7 months, logging about 150-200 hours in that time. I'm just about done
with the passive wave of Assmil's New French with Ease, and I plan to continue and finish the active wave next year.
I have elected French for the last two 6WCs, and I am working on a half super challenge in French. Besides Assimil,
my main approach has been a never-ending stream of input, from radio, TV5MONDE, audiobooks, eBooks, and
book books. Thus far I've enjoyed reading fantasy series such as Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, and A Song of Ice
and Fire, both in French and in other languages, so this is where I've concentrated my efforts. I also read and listen
to the news.

At the moment, I estimate my reading ability to be a strong B1 or a weak B2, my listening ability to be around A2,
and my speaking and writing abilities to be in the A1/A2 range.

My plan for progressing is to continue with the diverse audio and written input and to complete the active wave of
Assimil. Once I finish, I will consider picking up other possible options, such as FSI drills, Assimil's advanced
course, and the like. In 2013, my "official goal" will be to change my HTLAL profile to French - Basic Fluency. My
"real goal" (i.e., a realistic goal measuring my studying, not an idealistic goal relating to the results of the studying)