United States
Joined 5683 days ago

1335 posts - 1632 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Finnish
Studies: Thai, Polish, Afrikaans, Hindi, Hungarian, Italian, Spanish, Swedish

Message 1 of 66
18 December 2012 at 11:13am | IP Logged 
Welcome to my new log! I usually start my TAC logs on New Year's Eve or after the New Year, but I feel like I'm ready to start the 2013 log now. I am in three TAC teams this year:Team Viking, Team *jäŋe / *ledús and Team Nebun.

The languages I know I will be learning this year, along with comments about each one, are listed below:

Afrikaans: I need to revive this one somewhat, I've neglected it a lot since 2010, My level in mid-2010 may have been A2 but I doubt it's that high now. My pronunciation could use a little more work, but I'm not sure how much I will need to work on it yet. I want to get to a solid C1 level by the end of the year. I've been learning this language since 2007; I should be much, much better at using it.

Spanish: My erratic "studying" has helped me reach a frustrating level where written and spoken Spanish no longer seem even slightly foreign or exotic, but I can't read well nor can I actually converse with anyone; spouting random phrases does not count as speaking! My pronunciation is okay but I can't get lazy. I hope to get to at least C1 by 31 December, 2013. I've been learning Spanish since 2009, and even took college courses, so C1 should be achievable for this one too.

Swedish: Same frustrating level as Spanish, but my pronunciation is not good at all, sometimes I mangle words pretty badly. I want to have a solid B2 level or better by 2014.

Finnish: Everything except spelling needs improvement, I've focused too much on grammar at times and can't say much at all. My pronunciation is very inconsistent, sometimes I don't sound too bad but other times I sound completely confused. I believe I can get to a solid B1, maybe even B2, level by 2014 if I am more consistent.