Groupie
United Kingdom
Joined 4119 days ago

64 posts - 87 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: German, Spanish, Mandarin, Sign Language, French

Message 1 of 68
18 December 2012 at 5:57pm | IP Logged 
Hi, I'm the Hidden Linguist (formerly known as Hidden).

I thought I'd post a new log instead of continuing with my old one as;

1. I've had to create a new account (warning; don't change your email unless you really have to). Although I have to say I prefer the name 'Hidden Linguist' to 'Hidden'.

2. I'd prefer a fresh start to the new year, as I wasn't as active during my 2012 log as I'd hoped I would be, and it's a little depressing looking back over it. :(

The Asian Team has kindly accepted me into their group for TAC 2013, and I can't wait to get started and see where the new year takes us all. :)

Mandarin will be my main language focus during 2013. I started learning Mandarin at the end of June 2012, and I've completely fallen in love with the language. I will probably be focusing as much on the characters (both reading and writing them) as on the speaking/listening aspects.

At the moment I try to stop using the pinyin for the characters that I learn as soon as possible as I don't want to become dependant on them, which seems to be working OK for me so far.

Mandarin Goals

1. To complete the beginner's Mandarin course that I'm enrolled on.

2. To order a meal in Mandarin at a restaurant. The tutor from my course is considering arranging for us all to go out as a group, so this may happen a little sooner than I'd planned. Scary. O.O

3. Figure out how to type characters on my computer.

4. Start writing some of my posts in Mandarin.

5. Be able to have a basic conversation in Mandarin

6. Be able to read simple texts in Mandarin

I'm looking forward to more language learning in 2013. Bring on the New Year! :)

Edited by Hidden Linguist on 02 March 2013 at 12:52pm

2 persons have voted this message useful

Takato
Tetraglot