Tetraglot
FranceRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4410 days ago

414 posts - 582 votes 
Speaks: French*, EnglishB2, EnglishC2, Spanish, Japanese
Studies: Korean, Norwegian, Mandarin

Message 129 of 203
04 April 2014 at 1:51am | IP Logged 
@Druckfehler: Actually, more than studying the basic grammar, it's basic vocabulary. I
can tell you rather "difficult words" while some really basic ones I won't remember.
That's where it's tough to go back to basics.
The thing is, since when I started I studied a tiny bit in 2 months and then went
straight to intermediate level classes at the Korean Culture Center, I kinda skipped
the basic vocab. I did do the grammar thanks to TTMIK (although I probably have some
holes as well) but vocab is my biggest one.

Oh thanks as well for the info on how to add a picture but.. What if the picture is not
online? Do I need to put it up online first?

Well, my "how's Shanghai update" will be coming this weekend in the end.
1 person has voted this message useful

proudft
United States
Joined 4931 days ago

124 posts - 156 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Mandarin

Message 130 of 203
04 April 2014 at 8:15am | IP Logged 
yuhakko wrote:

Result: met 2 chinese in the street who took me to a tea house. I felt sth
was off but went with it. We had an incredible tea experience and got to know about
what each had special, etc. But at the end she showed the total price of 1200元。I had
ony 100 left.. So one of them payed the rest for me and we went to the bank where... my
card got eaten by the machine! So I didn't give them back anything.. and went to a
different bank alone get a bit of money. I'm pretty sure they were trying to rip my off
for some reason. Is there anyone who knows who much it costs usually?

I'm behind on reading logs but yeah, this is a thing. I had heard about it on a Chinesepod lesson - here's some travelers talking about it: Teahouse Scam