Triglot
United States
Joined 4247 days ago

6 posts - 6 votes
Speaks: English*, French, Irish
Studies: Japanese, German, Russian, Mandarin

Message 1 of 4
21 December 2012 at 6:52pm | IP Logged 
Hello. This is going to be my first time participating in the TAC; however, I have looked at it a bit over the last
few years. I am going to mainly focus on German this year, although I will probably work on Japanese and
Chinese somewhat as well. If everything goes well I might dabble with a little bit of Norwegian too.

I am going to hopefully be participating on a team for German, whether that will be the second team or not, I
am
currently unsure.

German
I am a beginner in German. I haven't had much experience in learning the language outside of using it a little
bit
with my family. My goal is to get to a B1 level at least, hopefully more. The courses I currently have are
Michel
Thomas, Pimsleur, Assimil German with Ease and Perfectionnement Allemand, and finally Teach Yourself
German.
I also have all of the Harry Potter series and The Lord of the Rings, with audio, if I get around to needing it.

Japanese
I mainly just want to maintain my current level, I have a few books that I'd like to read, and an anime series or
two.

Mandarin
Much the same as Japanese. Although I'll likely just read things online.

Norwegian
I only plan on studying Norwegian if I have extra time after my German studies. I have Le Norvegien sans
Peine,
Teach Yourself Norwegian and Pimsleur Norwegian I.

Anyway that's all for now.

Edited by Aelstome on 06 January 2013 at 10:53pm

1 person has voted this message useful

Aelstome
Triglot
United States
Joined 4247 days ago

6 posts - 6 votes
Speaks: English*, French, Irish
Studies: Japanese, German, Russian, Mandarin

Message 2 of 4
06 January 2013 at 10:52pm | IP Logged 
I thought I'd take a moment to make my first update. I've done several thing so far:
Gone through Michel Thomas
Done some L-R, about 6 hours so far
Gone though lesson 21 in Assimil